Indian philosophy

The history of Indian philosophy is a rich and complex tapestry of diverse philosophical traditions and schools of thought that have evolved over the course of thousands of years. The philosophical traditions of India can be traced back to the Vedas, the oldest and most sacred texts of Hinduism, which were composed between 1500 BCE and 500 BCE.

Vedic Philosophy
The early Vedic philosophy was focused on the religious practices of the Brahmin caste and was concerned with the nature of the universe, the relationship between the gods and humans, and the importance of ritual sacrifice. The later Vedic philosophy, known as Upanishadic philosophy, began to explore deeper questions about the nature of reality and the relationship between the individual self and the ultimate reality.

The Upanishads
The Upanishads, composed between 800 BCE and 500 BCE, were a series of philosophical treatises that sought to explore the nature of reality and the nature of the self. The Upanishads introduced the concept of Brahman, the ultimate reality that underlies all existence, and Atman, the individual self that is identical to Brahman. This philosophy is known as Vedanta, which means the end or culmination of the Vedas.

The Sramana Traditions
Around the same time that the Upanishads were being composed, another philosophical tradition emerged in India known as the Sramana traditions. These traditions were characterized by their rejection of the caste system, their emphasis on individual spiritual liberation, and their focus on ethical conduct. The most prominent of the Sramana traditions were Buddhism and Jainism.

Buddhism, founded by Gautama Buddha in the 6th century BCE, was a philosophical and spiritual tradition that sought to end suffering and achieve enlightenment. The central teachings of Buddhism were the Four Noble Truths, which stated that suffering is an inherent part of existence, that the cause of suffering is attachment and desire, that it is possible to end suffering, and that the path to ending suffering is the Eightfold Path.

Jainism, founded by Mahavira in the 6th century BCE, was a philosophy and spiritual tradition that emphasized non-violence, self-control, and non-attachment. The central teachings of Jainism were the three jewels of right belief, right knowledge, and right conduct.

The Classical Period
The classical period of Indian philosophy began around the 2nd century BCE and lasted until the 12th century CE. During this period, several major philosophical schools emerged, including Nyaya, Vaisheshika, Samkhya, Yoga, Mimamsa, and Vedanta.

Nyaya, founded by Gautama in the 2nd century BCE, was a school of philosophy that focused on logic and epistemology. The central teachings of Nyaya were the four sources of knowledge: perception, inference, comparison, and testimony.

Vaisheshika, founded by Kanada in the 2nd century BCE, was a school of philosophy that focused on metaphysics and ontology. The central teachings of Vaisheshika were the seven categories of existence: substance, quality, action, generality, particularity, inherence, and non-existence.

Samkhya, founded by Kapila in the 2nd century BCE, was a school of philosophy that focused on dualism and cosmology. The central teachings of Samkhya were the concept of purusha, the individual self, and prakriti, the material world.

Yoga, founded by Patanjali in the 2nd century BCE, was a school of philosophy that focused on the practice of yoga as a means of achieving spiritual liberation. Yoga is a comprehensive system of spiritual practice that has its roots in ancient India. It is both a physical and mental discipline that aims to bring about a state of harmony between the body, mind, and spirit. The philosophy of yoga is based on the belief that the individual soul (jiva) is one with the universal soul (Brahman), and that the practice of yoga can help to reveal this underlying unity.
The philosophy of yoga is primarily expounded in the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, a text that dates back to the 2nd century BCE. The Yoga Sutras are a collection of aphorisms that outline the eight limbs of yoga, which are as follows:
Yama: ethical guidelines for living in society, including non-violence, truthfulness, and non-stealing.
Niyama: personal disciplines, such as cleanliness, contentment, and self-discipline.
Asana: physical postures that help to prepare the body for meditation.
Pranayama: breath control techniques that help to regulate the flow of prana (life force) in the body.
Pratyahara: withdrawal of the senses from external stimuli in preparation for meditation.
Dharana: concentration on a single object or idea.
Dhyana: meditation on the object of concentration.
Samadhi: a state of complete absorption in the object of meditation.

Mimamsa, founded by Jaimini in the 2nd century BCE, was a school of philosophy that focused on the interpretation of the Vedas and the importance of ritual action. The central teachings of Mimamsa were the concept of dharma, or moral duty, and the importance of following the correct rituals and actions.

Vedanta, which means the end or culmination of the Vedas, is one of the most influential schools of Indian philosophy. Vedanta emphasizes the unity of all existence and the concept of Brahman, the ultimate reality that underlies all existence. The most famous Vedantic philosopher was Shankara, who lived in the 8th century CE and wrote extensive commentaries on the Upanishads and other Vedantic texts.

Bhakti Movement
In the medieval period, a new philosophical movement emerged in India known as the Bhakti movement. This movement emphasized the importance of devotion and worship of a personal god or goddess as a means of achieving spiritual liberation. The Bhakti movement had a profound influence on Indian culture, literature, and music, and it continues to be an important aspect of Indian spirituality today.

Modern Indian Philosophy
In the 19th and 20th centuries, Indian philosophy underwent significant changes as a result of the influence of Western philosophy and the rise of Indian nationalism. Some of the most important philosophers of this period include Raja Ram Mohan Roy, Swami Vivekananda, Mahatma Gandhi, and Aurobindo Ghose.

Raja Ram Mohan Roy was a social and religious reformer who sought to integrate Western ideas and Indian traditions. He founded the Brahmo Samaj, a movement that sought to reform Hinduism and promote religious tolerance.

Swami Vivekananda was a disciple of the Indian saint Ramakrishna and a key figure in the introduction of Vedanta to the West. He founded the Ramakrishna Mission, a spiritual organization that continues to promote Vedanta and the teachings of Ramakrishna today.

Mahatma Gandhi was a political and spiritual leader who sought to use non-violent resistance to achieve Indian independence from British rule. He was deeply influenced by the teachings of the Bhagavad Gita and other Indian spiritual traditions.

Aurobindo Ghose was a philosopher and spiritual teacher who founded the Sri Aurobindo Ashram in Pondicherry. His philosophy emphasized the evolution of consciousness and the unity of all existence.

In conclusion, Indian philosophy is a diverse and complex tradition that has evolved over the course of thousands of years. From the early Vedic philosophy to the modern Indian philosophy, Indian thought has been characterized by its emphasis on spiritual liberation, ethical conduct, and the exploration of the nature of reality. Indian philosophy has had a profound influence on world thought and continues to be an important area of study and exploration.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s